Reigning champions South Africa look to defend title

You are here

September 17 to 21

At Makerere University

World University Netball Championships

Reigning World University Netball champions South Africa have named their team for the forthcoming championship.

The Spar Proteas, as the team is popularly known, jets in next week.

The playing squad has Alicia Puren, Chante Louw, Chantelle Swart, Lungile Mthembu, Nicole Taljaard, Nobulele Phuza, Sikholiwe Mdletshe, Stephenie Brandt Tshina Mdau, Jasmine Ziegelmeier and Jeante Strydom.

At the last tournament in Miami, USA, South Africa beat Uganda in the semi-finals before edging Jamaica 43-39 to emerge champions.

Burundi, Kenya, Singapore, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Namibia and hosts Uganda have confirmed participation.

Team Uganda is training at the MTN Arena in Lugogo and Ndejje University on the outskirts of Kampala city.

South Africa won the last edition in Miami, USA where Uganda finished fourth after being beaten to bronze by Australia.

Host nations organise the biennial event together with the Fédération Internationale du Sport Universitaire (FISU).

In July, 2012, the first World University Netball Championship was held in Cape Town, South Africa.

The South African Federation of University Sports organised the event. It is a women's indoor tournament with a maximum of 12 teams competing.

A total of 12 competitors and five officials are allowed per team.