Zimbabwe names World University Netball Championship team

You are here

After missing out at the last World University Netball Championships, Zimbabwe are back.

Zimbabwe featured in the inaugural edition in South Africa, but failed to make it to the second edition in Miami, USA.

They recently confirmed their participation and this week named their team for the September 17 to 21 event at Makerere University.

Their team has: Letwin Ncube, Loraine .N. Ncube, Medline Bhebhe, Mercy Peta, Moreblessing Ruwocha, Mesiah Manyanga, Mothanda Alfayo, Precious Chirima, Rudairo Nyamapote, Turiro Muresi, Thabeth Chisdza, Zivorinashe Chiwaza.

At the inaugural edition Zimbabwe finished seventh out of eight countries. Zimbabwe who could only beat USA that time will be out for a better show this time.

At the last tournament in Miami, USA, South Africa beat Uganda in the semi-finals before edging Jamaica 43-39 to emerge champions.

Burundi, Kenya, Singapore, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Namibia and hosts Uganda have confirmed participation.

Team Uganda is training at the MTN Arena in Lugogo and Ndejje University on the outskirts of Kampala city.

At the last edition Uganda finished fourth after being beaten to bronze by Australia.

Host nations organize the biennial event together with the Fédération Internationale du Sport Universitaire (FISU).

In July, 2012, the first World University Netball Championship was held in Cape Town, South Africa.

The South African Federation of University Sports organised the event. It is a women's indoor tournament with a maximum of 12 teams competing.

A total of 12 competitors and five officials are allowed per team.